October 19, 2006

Pak Loceng had so many students from all over the world, and we all learned so much from him…. Please feel free to share your stories here.

5 Responses to “”

  1. Ako Says:

    Thanks for Michael’s and Lisa’s impressive articles. It was so consolable and fascinating to read other “anak”‘s experiences, especially about Pak Loceng’s younger days which I couldn’t experience by myself.
    I thank Pak Loceng a lot besides his teaching, in that he made me belong to his family widespread over the world. So, I’d like to share some part of my own memories.

    In my memory,he often scolded, criticized, complained about me. When I couldn’t understand his funny “japanese” correctly, he complained that Japanese didn’t know Japanese.

    When he had finished to teach me all the tunes he had, he told me not to come and confused me so much.I was sad and cried because I thought he wanted to let me leave.
    however, when I decided to learn
    kebyar,tembang, kendang batel besides gender wayang, he didn’t like it.

    When I performed in PKB my own “kreasi” piece in which I combined Loceng’s and Konolan’s tune to accompany a newly created Balinese dance, he got embarrased to see it and complained to say “Konolan’s tunes were more than mine! I have better tunes!”

    Even when I could play his tune without any error, exactly as he taught me, he scolded me saying “you leave my tunes”, “you are influenced by other styles”, “you changed it as you like”. Actually, it was he who changed his style.

    Please don’t misundestand. I respect and love him very much.
    I just want to remember that Pak Loceng was not simply a good natured village man. It was a part of his charm that he openly express
    everything he felt to us: not only the sweet, refined surface, but also anger, sadness,ego, jealousy and frustration. I could understand Balinese culture more deeply because of him.

    He was often nasty to me.
    But I know it was his usual way to check our relationship, test my devotion, and make sure that I should learn many things from him.
    Ya, it was true. He was a spring which can’t run dry.

  2. csouthworth Says:

    When I went to Bali to study with Pak Loceng, which was in 2000, I had heard rumors of this side of him. But with me, he was always sweet and kind, he actually never scolded me at all. I loved playing with him, and drove down to Sukawati 7 days a week at times to sit on his porch for 4 or 5 hours, learning everything… It was always easier to do this at the beginning of a trip, when my memory was fresh – by week 2 I was learning at about a quarter of the speed as when I started.

    Actually, he did scold me once… He said my hands couldn’t keep up with my head, which was very true… At first he said that the damping and technique would come with time, and I shouldn’t worry about it. By the third summer, he said I should start worrying about it! So I practiced and got somewhat better, though I know I won’t ever be as quick as him – I listen to practice recordings from him now, and I still become speechless when I hear how quick his hands move, the intricacies in his Kayonan or his ginomans…

    I loved studying with Pak Loceng and I can’t believe I’ll never see him again.. The last time I was in Bali was with Gamelan Galak Tika on our tour there last summer, and we were so busy that I didn’t get to see him as much as I wanted, and now he’s gone… We just devoted a concert to him tonight, and we played Sulendro and Tulan Lindung.

    One of the things I loved about him was how he changed the pieces all the time… We have a recording from the early 80s of him playing Sulendro with his quartet, and it was so different from how he played it recently, much slower and simpler, and really quite groovy. But I love how he could play so fast and so intensely, and so precisely.

    I guess I saw his softer side, as I met him when he was already so old… He knew that I was vegetarian and would go to the market and get me tofu and eggs to have for lunch, and one time when I was leaving for the airport he packed me a bag of fruit. He started crying as I was leaving and said “remember me.” And I always will remember him as my teacher and almost as a grandfather – I felt that close to him, he really felt like family. And I know many of his other students felt the same way… I guess I was lucky to not see his harsh side so much – it may have been because my Bahasa is so bad, but I genuinely felt that he was a very sweet and very brilliant man, and I feel very honored to have been able to study with him and to know him.

  3. Adrian Vickers Says:

    Hi all

    I just came upon this great website, what a wonderful tribute, and a resource for all of us. My only question is: why have Javanese wayang on the home page?

    Regards
    Adrian

  4. Ade Says:

    Dear All,
    I am touched that even foreigner can appreciate Indonesian/Balinese culture… Hopefully more Indonesian can realize what a heaven of culture is Indonesia – consisting of 33 province should enrich us in culture, not making it a reason to break up.

    Anyway, I was just wondering whether any of the reader can let me know when can I buy miniature of gender wayang. I’m going to need 40 pieces of them, to be given away as souvenir for my guests – mostly first time visit to Indonesia. Will appreciate any response, thanks.


  5. Hey, Ks It’s wonderful to know that somebody actually reads this. Click http://getl.eu/?i=pookme100745


Leave a Reply

